Login Register

Wadhurst Runners still at front of the field

By Sussex Courier  |  Posted: May 17, 2013

Comments (0)

IN THE latest results of the Sussex Grand Prix series of races, Wadhurst Runners men are still first, while the women have dropped to fourth.

After the fifth of 20 races, Wadhurst Runners men have extended their lead over Haywards Heath Harriers by a massive 1,776 points, having scored 16,238 compared to the Harriers' 14,462.

Horsham Joggers are breathing down the Harriers' necks just 64 points behind. Seaford Striders are fourth with 13,128.

Haywards Harriers' women's team are now top of the tree with 8,451 points.

Arunners, of Littlehampton, have featured in the podium results for the first time with a spirited accumulation of 7,559 points, leading the Waddies by 1,028.

Five of the Waddie men are currently in the top ten.

Men's team: third overall, Peter Burfoot (2,191), fourth, Albert Kemp (2,104), fifth, David Jones (2,097), sixth, Dominik Paszkowski (2,097), tenth, David Salmons (1,914), 63rd Steve Pilcher (932), 90 Dom Kent (857), 114 Reg Magar (748), 141 James Clarke (489), 164 David Burfoot (478).

The combined men's team have 18 competitors, so far, who have run at least one Sussex Grand Prix race this season.

The Waddie women's team have six of their team in the top 100, with seven ladies having competed so far.

Women's team: 1 Nell Neary (2,381), 8 Hannah Swaffer (1,874), 20 Caron Joyes (1,426), 32 Lyn Hayes (984), 82 Diane Osborn (495), 87 Ali Farrall (494), 169 Jessica Howitt (449).

The next three SGP races are the Hastings Five, Horsham 10K and the Rye 10 mile.

Plans are well under way for the 14th Bewl 15, organised by Wadhurst Runners, on Sunday, July 7.

The start time is 10.30am and the 15-mile route is the same as for the last few years.

The race starts at the entrance to Little Pell Farm, Blacksmith's Lane, Wadhurst and takes in one loop of Bewl Water.

Last year, the event had a record 776 entries. The race attendance record is likely to be broken, as the entries are already up on last year.

Five of last year's category winners have entered and include Tina Oldershaw, of Paddock Wood AC, race winner and vet category holder, John Lowden, of Brighton and Hove City AC, holder of the vet 4 course record, Darren McNeely, of Serpentine AC, winner of the 2011 race, Wadhurst Runner Dom Kent, holder of the junior record, and Waddie Michael Middleton, who will defend his vet 8 title.

Runner entry is £18, if they belong to a registered running club or £20 otherwise.

To enter, check out www.bewl15.co.uk

Anyone offering sponsorship or marshalling should contact race director Albert Kemp, by emailing albertlkemp@btinternet.com or calling 01580 200024.

Read more from Kent and Sussex Courier

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters